Friday, December 31, 2010

43 Nations in Düsseldorf

We all knew that the EBU would be releasing the official list of participating nations sometime after Christmas, and, as anticipated, they came through for us on New Year's Eve!  After the dust has all settled, it looks like we will, in fact, have 43 nations competing in Eurovision 2011.  Slovakia, after hemming and hawing over their decision, has decided to join the party in Germany, along with the aforementioned returns from San Marino, Hungary, Italy, and Austria.  Also, this will be the first ESC since Kiev in 2005 where there have been no withdrawals!  Furthermore, as Italy has been such a major financial contributor to the EBU, they automatically qualify for the final as a member of the newly-minted "Big Five", alongside France, Spain, the United Kingdom, and hosts Germany.

The complete list of participating nations, along with their national broadcasters, is after the jump:
  1. Albania (RTVSH)
  2. Armenia (AMPTV)
  3. Austria (ORF)
  4. Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
  5. Belarus (BTRC)
  6. Belgium (RTBF)
  7. Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT)
  8. Bulgaria (BNT)
  9. Croatia (HRT)
  10. Cyprus (CyBC)
  11. Denmark (DR)
  12. Estonia (ERR)
  13. Finland (YLE)
  14. France (France TV)
  15. FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  16. Georgia (GEGT)
  17. Germany (NDR/ARD) (Host Broadcaster)
  18. Greece (ERT)
  19. Hungary (MTV)
  20. Iceland (RÚV)
  21. Ireland (RTÉ)
  22. Israel (IBA)
  23. Italy (RAI)
  24. Latvia (LTV)
  25. Lithuania (LRT)
  26. Malta (PBS)
  27. Moldova (TRM)
  28. The Netherlands (TROS)
  29. Norway (NRK)
  30. Poland (TVP)
  31. Portugal (RTP)
  32. Romania (TVR)
  33. Russia (C1R)
  34. San Marino (SMRTV)
  35. Serbia (RTS)
  36. Slovakia (STV)
  37. Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  38. Spain (RTVE)
  39. Sweden (SVT)
  40. Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  41. Turkey (TRT)
  42. Ukraine (NTU)
  43. United Kingdom (BBC)

No comments:

Post a Comment

(Please consider putting your name on your comments; just look on the drop-down menu and click on "Name/URL".)

Free Hit Counter